Sunday, May 11th, 2014

It has been a very productive week. I’ve gotten to know more of my networking group and the landscaping is looking less “squatter-chic” and more like a house is inhabited by someone who’s not a transient. It’s so nice to be able to work on my lawn again. Sure, I was sweaty and dirty but that’s better than being in the two-foot drifts three/four months ago. This is my element.

One thing I am having trouble with is writing the next story. I’ve got the opening scene, but not an acceptable way to introduce the scene or character. It’s a little frustrating.

I suppose it’s going to be a late-night trip to Waffle House for me.

Tagged ,

15 thoughts on “Sunday, May 11th, 2014

  1. kerbey says:

    You will surely get inspired at the Waffle House. Why can’t the opening scene be there? An image of bacon and eggs makes everyone happy!

    • I watched them clean the griddle before. It could make for a good horror story.

    • Joseph Nebus says:

      You know, I just had my first Waffle House experience in living memory last week. It was fairly pleasant, although my dear love and I were amused by the two long lists of terms of service posted by the door.

      • As in “no shirt, no shoes, no problem”?

      • kerbey says:

        Elaborate on that please. Two lists?

      • Joseph Nebus says:

        They had rules about how many people could be in the restaurant at once, how people had to behave, how they’d be treated, and — on the second list — how policies changed when the place was full. Then there would be extra rules about how many people could be in a single party, how long people could linger at tables after finishing their meal, how many people could stand away from tables waiting for service or waiting for take-out, and on like that. If I’d thought to have a camera (or phone) with me I might have taken a picture. It came to about ten to twelve rules for each case.

  2. Get waffling, Nate…we need the story:)

  3. nicjor79 says:

    I would love to see some pictures of what you’re doing with your yard. I have big plans for mine, but lately it’s taken all I have just to keep the grass cut.

  4. The story will come, Nate. It always does. Glad you’re having some better weather up your way.

    • I picked up on an intro last night, but I’m stretched thinly and exhausted. It seems like time’s often eaten up by other obligations. I have no idea where to turn to for help, as it isn’t anyone else’s obligation. I do what I can… not well, I suppose, but it’s a college try.

  5. authormbeyer says:

    Hash browns at Waffle House smothered in ketchup solve a majority of life’s problems… not the problems of obesity and diabetes, though. Oh, and the bacon! God said, “Let there be a Waffle House!”

Leave a Reply

