Saturday, January 4th, 2014

The snow… it laughs at me, and not in a playful “Frosty the Snowman” sort of way either. Yesterday was rather windy, and I came home to waist-high drifts against the garage. As much at the Zephyrus mounds looked aesthetically pleasing, it was not conducive to fitting the car into the bay. Parking the vehicle in a low spot, I spent a little over an hour and a half scraping tarmacadam. Amid huffs of cursing and puffs of making oaths, I’ve resolved to start saving money for a snow blower. There’s simply to much to shovel by hand, and it might jeopardize my health some day.

I haven’t much time to do anything other than work and sleep. This is slightly tragic as there was a story idea that I wanted to write about, but it was forgotten in the haze of taking calls and compiling numbers. Getting distracted seems to be the mind killer these days.

This isn’t the time to be exasperated though, as I have a whole year to develop something wonderful. Not to be too proud, but I’m finishing my year-end materials quicker than usual this year. Once the last of the governmental demands are fulfilled, I should get out somewhere. It can’t be expensive, but there has to be something interesting around to visit. It couldn’t hurt the creative process either.

Sometimes, events unblock memories that I’ve put away for a long time. This makes me debate whether I should make a post about the first (and only) time I went to a strip club. It left such an impression on me, that I never did go back.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Saturday, January 4th, 2014

  1. Jen says:

    I am so curious about that unblocking process. It happens to me in bite-size ways. I will be having a conversation with my husband just before bed and a flash of a seemingly unimportant memory will flash past for a second. I dismiss it because — well, because it’s no strip club memory — but i wonder if it’s my subconscious trying to pass me an important message. STAY WARM!

    • Thanks. They’re threatening us with -22º C (-7º F) and heavy snow tomorrow. I’ve got blankets and a space heater. I’ll layer, if I have to. This is when I question the sanity of people who live in Minnesota, where wind chills are supposed to get up to -40º C (-40º F) and -56.7º C (-70º F). There’s nothing hardcore about getting frostbite.

      I think my mind runs on key experiences, much like a keyword database. Someone will describe a certain situation, and it will unlock that memory even if I hadn’t thought about it in years.

  2. Well, I for one, want to hear about the unique strip club visit:)

    • It’s not unique in the way that they were making blunders or fools of themselves, but how it was a completely different experience for me. I should just write it down before I get distracted and forget it again.

  3. nicjor79 says:

    For your vacation, I could definitely recommend Key West. There’s no better place to stimulate the creative process (at least not in the lower 48). It’s a little hard to get to, but that’s part of the appeal.

  4. kerbey says:

    Well, now that you’ve thrown it out there, you have to write it. As a warning post, of course.

  5. Laura Lynn says:

    I want to hear about the strip club! I worked in one, you know. When I was 21. Ah, those were the days.

Leave a Reply

