Forced Post

I slipped up earlier this week by not keeping consistent with my 48-hour rule on making a post. There are a couple of excuses for that. One, I had a conference in Xenia on Monday and was too exhausted to think afterward. The changes to the Higher Education Act (HEA), otherwise known as Title IV, can give me such a headache. It’s not that I don’t understand what they’re doing. Rather, it’s that I disagree completely with what they’re doing.

I also happened to pick up a three year-old game (Fallout: New Vegas) for $5. I game quite often, and know it can be a genuine addiction. The symptoms of video game withdrawal and other mentally addictive topics are quite similar. The best thing I could have ever done for myself was cancel my World of Warcraft subscription back in 2006. I would go through whole weekends without doing a thing.

I now would like you to notice I said “excuses” instead of “reasons.” Why? Because there are never any good excuses, only good reasons. Excuses are internal exceptions, reasons are for external situations. Therefore, I shall weave in a post during daytime hours. To quote Yoda, “Do or do not. There is no try.”

I haven’t written creatively for at least a week and a half. That’s terrible! While I do enjoy getting down on myself, that’s still a problem. I’m not a huge schedule-enjoying person, as the stress just makes me cranky. Therefore, making one will ultimately be abandoned. People like me just need to start headlong and do.

Contrary to what the above might suggest, I’m not adverse to planning. It just can’t deal with routine. For example, I have a loose plan in what order the house repairs will go, but there’s no time limit set to any of it. With this in mind, I was musing at lunch what planning techniques would be beneficial to me.

I’ve ended up deciding a timeline and a web chart might improve the ideas I have for my stories. I’ve got bits and pieces of them in my computer, but as a few screws and some planks do not a chair make neither does a few paragraphs and good intentions.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Forced Post

  1. I like the Yoda quotation…not being a Star Wars watcher, I’d never heard it. Excellent.

  2. The utter disagreement with just about everything I learned in con ed classes led me to leave public accounting. Don’t even get me started on the tax code.

    As for blogging, inspiration is everywhere you look. Really. Well, except maybe the tax code……….though I think a thriller by someone who really understands it and can distill it into a series of concepts people can understand (like my cynical observation that the reason mortgage interest is deductible on two homes is because congresspeople need two of them; people understand that)………maybe you can be the person who does this, Nate. I’ve been away from the whole mess for more than a decade, so………….

    • I’ve disagreed with the whole structure of taxation for about 5 years now. Anyone making under $20,000 single/$30,000 married filing joint shouldn’t pay taxes in my opinion. They’re barely paying for housing and food. Anyone between $20,000 and $80,000 isn’t buying gold-plated toilets either. They shouldn’t be hit hard with taxes. When a person starts to get a six-digit salary is when they should be in the tax brackets as we see them today.

      As for deductible interest, I’ve thought deductible items were a sham. You would have one general rule and at least five different exceptions in the IRC. It’s shameful the way they’ve complicated everything to the point a regular taxpayer needs professional assistance to prepare it. The average citizen should reasonably be expected to complete their taxes without the need for interpretation and tax research.

      I’m much more in favor of straight forward taxation, and streamlining the IRC. There are simply too many people in this country to be fussing over the details.

Leave a Reply

