AC? No I’m Fine.

As Glenn Frey would say, “The Heat is On.” It’s 30C (86F) out in the fields with little sign of cooling off any time soon. I couldn’t be happier, as I’m through with the cold. Let the sweat drip from my jaw, I want the sun. This is part of the reason why I moved south a while back. It’s actually why a lot of Ohioans move south. I used to keep the windows open in the Charlotte heat until it hit 38C. Any hotter, and I was concern it’d ruin any perishables I had in the house.

Much to my surprise, I wasn’t turned on by Phoenix. Being the glutton for punishment I was, I went at the end of July to see some friends that relocated out there. Most of my contacts are now flung all over the states on their own life paths. I don’t begrudge them that. It’s definitely their life to live, even though I miss them so. It also makes for a terrible night out. I can’t call my friend of 19 years to go out for a couple of drinks at a bar.

Has anyone else traveled to a location they thought perfect then get an unpleasant surprise upon arrival?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “AC? No I’m Fine.

  1. laurasmess says:

    Yep. Broome, Western Australia. It’s right up in the northern part of the state and I was under the impression that I’d be drinking cocktails by a pool in beautiful tropical paradise. Instead, I almost died from the heat. It was hot EVERYWHERE. The accommodation that we organised was hot. The pool was hot. The beach was hot. It was very beautiful, but I don’t deal well with temperatures above 35 degrees C (with humidity++) and in Broome it gets in the low to mid 40’s (up to about 112 degrees F). It was also boring, as the town is about three streets and four shops. I ended up getting sick due to bacteria in the water and needed to take an emergency flight home, huddling in a seat next to the aircraft toilet. Horrible, horrible. I’m never going back as I’ve been mentally scarred for life (though plenty of people love Broome, so I don’t want to bash it completely. It’s a beautiful place for people who love the heat, beach and lots of bugs. I think I just wasn’t strong enough, physically!!)

    • I get the same reports out of Florida. I’ve never been there, but people who dislike it with start off with similar sentiments. Now that I’ve been around for a while, I can understand others better in this regard. It takes personal experience with the attitude of not receiving criticism personally. Many Americans will get defensive when I pipe up and express negative views of their state. That’s all part and parcel of traveling.

      By the way, isn’t is nice to be able type without the need of conversions? I told my mother how to calculate Celsius, and her head practically exploded with maths. 😉

      • laurasmess says:

        Haha, I am really bad at temperature conversions. I can understand your mother’s pain! And I completely agree re depersonalising criticism. Each person’s opinion is subjective and unfortunately, we often go to places with preconceived ideas 🙂

  2. Funnily enough the reverse is true. I spent most of my life in a place that I thought was perfect, and have only just found the place where I’m happy. Same thing with friends though.

  3. Nicole says:

    I remember the first time I went to the northern United States, on a field trip to Philadelphia when I was in school. Here in the South the weather is perfect in April, which is when it was, and so I didn’t see any reason why I couldn’t wear shorts that day. I snowed, and we ended up having to stand outside for over an hour outside of Independence Hall. I know I must have really looked ridiculous too. To this day, you will never see me wearing shorts.

    There was another incident in England a few years later. We were in Canterbury, and we were going on a day trip to a castle in Dover on the south coast. I was wearing a t-shirt, because it was very warm that day (and sunny too, which is rare anywhere in England) and somebody had to convince me to bring a coat. I’m glad I did, because that might have been the coldest place I have ever been. It was the channel winds that made it feel so cold.

    • Admittedly, I still pack with a Devil-may-care attitude. I haven’t run into a problem yet, but it could always happen. I like my jeans though. Come to think of it, I wore jeans the whole time the last we met.

  4. kerbey says:

    Any beach at all. While the ocean and palm trees are lovely, I am not. The humidity turns my hair into Diana Ross’s afro that time she fondled Li’l Kim’s “little kims,” robbing me of the confidence to pose saucily in various Sports Illustrated swimsuit edition cover shots.

  5. I attended the Rotary International Convention in Bangkok last year. Before departing, I heard nothing but how awesome/amazing/sensational/exotic Bangkok was. It is one of the “IT” places to go these days, and I was really excited about the trip.

    It was 120F with 1000% humidity every day, in a culture that deems two inches enough personal space. I like to stroll in cities. Get lost. Strolling was no fun in Bangkok. We made the best of it, and I’m glad I went, but I don’t know that I would go back. (Though anyone should go anywhere they can. I can’t stand people who preface their travel stories with “Don’t even bother to go to X, Darling, because I hated it.”) (I say I wouldn’t go back, but I got a pretty amazing book idea while visiting that would require spending a month or so there someday……..so………)

    Thank you for your Princess Bride comment to MTM. I howled with laughter, and that’s just what I need right now.

    • I appreciate the feedback all the same, Andra. Bangkok seems so exotic that traveling there seems daunting. That’s not to say I wouldn’t give it a shot, if I were offered a chance. I’d need booking help though, and help that I could trust.

      You’re welcome on the quotes. I like making people laugh, and it gets even better when it’s a home run. My head seems to be nothing more than a useless movie quote repository anymore, but I share them when I think they fit! 🙂

  6. Laura Lynn says:

    There’s a town called Cottage Grove. It’s a little place in Oregon, not much to look at really but I found out it’s a gateway to HELL! For some reason every time I go through Cottage Grove something bad happens (queue the organ music) Something like getting accosted under a freeway overpass-and saving myself by speaking firmly and loudly as one does to strange, hostile dogs. When I remonstrated with the Holiday Inn Express desk clerk “Are you out of your MIND sending people walking through that stinking reeking tunnel?! There was NO store there. Where were you sending me?” She said ” huh?”
    I bought a phone card to let people know we were coming (of course a cell phone won’t work) and for $5 I ran out of minutes before my friend answered the phone. The store clerk said “huh?” The liquor store got robbed while I was standing in the back by the coolers and if you think someone yelling threats to a clerk is going to make me come out from amidst the chips, where I was trying to blend in, you’re wrong. When I asked the clerk if he was okay he said “911 is the police, right?” My turn. I said “huh?” When I came out of the store the robber was walking away. Casual like. Walking. Broad daylight. Another time my throttle cable on the bike broke. One time I bought a bottle of liquor and dropped it smash within feet of my hotel room. Another time I lost one of my shoes. Just one. This innocuous town on the 5 hwy. Its Hell. I’ve stopped there over and over again on trips up and down the west coast but not anymore. Nope.
    Nowadays, I skip Cottage Grove Oregon.

    • With such a sordid history, I had to take a look for myself. The overview on Google maps isn’t all that strange, but when I’m on street level, I get some weird vibes. It seems rather run down and sketchy.

Leave a Reply

