Making Adulthood Not Suck So Much.

I recently read Laura Lifshitz-Hernandez’s “Waah. I’m an adult, and let me tell you kids, it sucks,” and began to realize I wasn’t in the same boat. I love being an adult. Yeah, no one gets hot and steamy over mortgage payments or taxes but I find myself with much more freedom than I ever could as a kid. Not only have I revitalized my childhood imagination, but I have been given so much more material with which to work. This includes everything from adult themes to raw living experience. It’s quite appealing to me.

There is no denying that the aged life can get a bit dull. I did find myself in sheer distress two days ago when I ran out of coffee for my morning cup. In my opinion, that’s pretty sad. So, how do I spice life up? I use humor.

Now, I know what you all are thinking. “Nate, you’re not funny. You’re, at best, a Steve Smith.” Your barbs are all met with, “I’m rubber and you’re glue. Whatever you say bounces off to me and sticks to you. Neiner neiner neiner!” It also could be that I’m rubber from my terrible diet and disappointing workout routine. That’s beside the point. The point is: I entertain myself.

It’s easy! For example, say your making chocolate milk. Why not honor the memory of Don LaFontaine while you do it? Yes, the audio quality is terrible, and yes, I also love Pablo Francisco. I don’t have the money to hire him though. If I did, I totally would.

Also, take remodeling a house. It’s all part and parcel of being an adult, but find the humor in its absurdity (there will be plenty of it). When I had my pool deck removed, there were a bunch of toys underneath. This is what happens when Nate is beyond the reach of parental control:

Foodz!

Foodz!
© 2013 by Corvidae in the Fields, all rights reserved

Sure, I have to be serious and all business at work, but I equate myself to John Wemmick from Great Expectations. My mind is my Walworth and my audience is me. I am the mullet of life, and who doesn’t like a mullet? (Shush, you do.)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

